Global Under Menu
Home > Education & Events > 2021 Fall Chaplain Symposium

2021 Fall Chaplain Symposium

Co-laboring for Competency in Diversity

Thursday, October 21, 2021
9:30 am - 4:00 pm (CDT)

Hosted by the Association of Professional Chaplains® (APC®), all chaplains and spiritual caregivers are invited to attend the symposium, which will be presented virtually via Zoom to a remote audience. Space is limited, so register as soon as possible to secure your spot. You won't want to miss this event.

With a shared commitment to increasing diversity and effectiveness in their department and institution, Darryl and Tammerie collaborate in various diversity and clinical pastoral education settings. In this workshop, we share practices that deepen the effectiveness of spiritual care and heighten the resilience of caregivers in high-diversity work settings. 

Participants will explore resources and experience practices that improve spiritual care effectiveness for providers and patients across spiritual traditions, racial identities, gender identities, sexual orientations, power differentials and other markers of difference. Finally, we will explore the relationship between building competency with diversity and enhancing resilience in spiritual caregivers.

Sesson Objectives

  • Learn effective practices from an integrated spiritual care department for working across chaplain/educator, race, gender identity, and religious differences.
  • Experience and explore educational modules and resources for educating spiritual care providers on impacts of social location and power differentials on care populations and care providers.
  • Explore practices for building resilience in high-diversity work and care settings.
 
Please join us for an outstanding program exploring relevant topics for working in today's environment. Featuring Rev. Tammerie Day BCC ACPE PhD and Rev. Darryl Owens MDiv BCC CT CPLC 

10:30 am – 5:00 pm EDT
9:30 am – 4:00 pm CDT
8:30 am – 3:00 pm MDT
7:30 am – 2:00 pm PDT
6:30 am – 1:00 pm AKDT
4:30 am – 11:00 pm HAST

The program qualifies for five CE hours for maintenance of BCCI® certification.

Registration Closes October 18, 2021

Pricing (per computer terminal)
Member/Nonmember - $175/$230 (available 7/22/2019 - 8/20/2019)
$179 (available 7-16-2021 to 8-31-2021)
$199 (available 9-1-2021 to 10-18-2021)
 
Registered participants will receive a link to the recording of the presentations about 3-4 weeks after the symposium has ended. The recording is for use within the participant’s single location only. Additional recordings may be purchased through the APC store after the event. 

Presenters

Schedule


 


Schedule 

Times listed as Central Time
9:30 am – 10:45 am

Part 1 - Presented by - Rev. Tammerie Day BCC ACPE PhD and Rev. Darryl Owens MDiv BCC CT CPLC

10:45 am - 11:00 am

Break

11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Part 2 - Presented by - Rev. Tammerie Day BCC ACPE PhD and Rev. Darryl Owens MDiv BCC CT CPLC

12:15 pm - 1:15 pm

Lunch

1:15 pm - 2:30 pm

Part 3 - Presented by - Rev. Tammerie Day BCC ACPE PhD and Rev. Darryl Owens MDiv BCC CT CPLC

2:30 pm - 2:45 pm

Break

2:45 pm - 4:00 pm

Part 4 - Presented by - Rev. Tammerie Day BCC ACPE PhD and Rev. Darryl Owens MDiv BCC CT CPLC