Global Under Menu
Home > Education & Events > 2019 Fall Chaplain Symposium

2019 Fall Chaplain Symposium

Spiritual Care in a Clinical World: Integrating Character, Skills and Outcomes

Thursday, September 26, 2019
9:30 am - 4:30 pm (CDT)

Hosted by the Association of Professional Chaplains® (APC®), all chaplains and spiritual caregivers are invited to attend the symposium, which will be presented in Hoffman Estates, IL to a live and remote audience. Space is limited, so register as soon as possible to secure your spot. You won't want to miss this event.

Please join us for an outstanding program exploring relevant topics for working in today's environment. Featuring Joanne Laurence, Mark Newitt, and Judith Ragsdale

10:30 am – 5:30 pm EDT
9:30 am – 4:30 pm CDT
8:30 am – 3:30 pm MDT
7:30 am – 2:30 pm PDT
6:30 am – 1:30 pm AKDT
4:30 am – 11:30 pm HAST

The program qualifies for six CE hours for maintenance of BCCI® certification.

Registration Closes September 23, 2019 for rempte participation (September 18, 2019 for On-site participation)

Pricing
Member/Nonmember - $175/$230 (available 7/22/2019 - 8/20/2019)
Member/Nonmember - $195/$240 (available 8/21/2019 - 9/23/2019)
 
Registered participants will receive a link to the recording of the presentations. The recording is for use within the participant’s single location only. Additional recordings may be purchased through the APC store after the event. 

Presenters

Schedule





Schedule

Times listed as Central Daylight (CDT)
8:30 am – 9:30 am
 

Registration
 

8:30 am
 

Light Continental Breakfast
 

9:30 am – 11:00 am
 

Session 1 - The Dharma of Spiritual Care: Cultivation of Skillful Response from a Perspective of Interrelatedness

Presented by - Joanne Laurence
 

11:00 am - 11:15 am
 

Break
 

11:15 am - 12:30 pm
 

Session 2 - Pastoral Presence and Character Virtues

Presented by - Mark Newitt BSc BA MA DThM

 

 

12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
 

Lunch
 

1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
 

Session 3 - Engendering an Encounter with Hope

Presented by - Mark Newitt BSc BA MA DThM
 

2:45 pm - 3:00 pm
 

Break
 

3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
 

Session 4 - Transforming Chaplaincy Requires Transforming CPE

Presented by - Judith Ragsdale MDiv PhD