Global Under Menu
Home > Professional Standards > Common Standards

Common Standards

The common standards of the chaplaincy profession are comprised of four foundational documents affirmed by the constituent boards of the Council on Collaboration on November 7, 2004 in Portland, ME. Collectively, these documents establish a unified voice for the six chaplaincy organizations that have affirmed them.

These standards describe what it means to these organizations to be a professional chaplaincy care provider, pastoral counselor or educator. The four documents are:

Common Standards for Professional  Chaplaincy (PDF)
Common Standards for Pastoral Educators/Supervisors (PDF)
Common Code of Ethics for Chaplains, Pastoral Counselors, Pastoral Educators and Students (PDF)
Principles for Processing Ethical  Complaints (PDF)

The membership of the participating groups represents over 10,000 members who currently serve as chaplains, pastoral counselors, and clinical pastoral educators in specialized settings as varied as healthcare, counseling centers, prisons or the military. The complete documents and information about each of the collaborating groups can be found on the following websites:

 Association of Professional ChaplainsTM (APCTM) -

American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC) -

Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (ACPE) -

National Association of Catholic Chaplains (NACC) -

National Association of Jewish Chaplains (NAJC) -

Canadian Association for Spiritual Care (CASC) -

For more information on the foundations of professional chaplaincy care see “Professional Chaplaincy: Its Role and Importance in Healthcare”